COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY & AGM 2017

29 July 2017 - College of Medicine Building

Addressing the audience...









(clockwise from top left) Emcee Dr Vincent Chan, A/Prof Lee Kheng Hock — President of CFPS (25th Council), Prof Helen Smith — Guest-of-Honour, Professor of Family Medicine and Primary Care, LKCSOM and Dr Paul Goh — Censor-in-Chief of CFPS (26th Council)

On 29 July 2017, prospective trainees of College's academic programmes - Graduate Diploma in Family Medicine (GDFM), Master of Medicine (Family Medicine) [MMed(FM)] and Family Medicine Fellowship Programme [FCFP(S)] - came together for the Commencement Ceremony held at the auditorium of the College of Medicine Building.

Emcee Dr Vincent Chan gave a warm welcome and invited A/Prof Lee Kheng Hock, College President (25th Council) to stage for his welcome adddress. Following which, Guest-of-Honour Prof Helen Smith spoke and related her experiences of the transitional changes in Family Medicine and firmly encouraged trainees to stay inquisitive throughout their professional lives. Dr Paul Goh, Censor-in-Chief went on to give an interesting overview of the College academic programmes.

The Programme Directors of the 3 programmes - Dr Ng Lee Beng [FCFP(S)], Dr Julian Lim [MMed(FM)] and Dr Kwong Kum Hoong (GDFM) - took to the stage to introduce the faculty members respectively.

It came as a pleasant surprise for Dr Xu
Bang Yu when Dr Julian Lim presented him
with the "Best Tutor of the Year" award,
based on the nominations from previous
year's MMed(FM) trainees.

As the trainees then proceeded separately for their induction sessions, invited guests mingled and had their tummies lightly satisfied with refreshments at the tea reception.

A/Prof Lee Kheng Hock and Dr Paul Goh also hosted a brief meet-up session with Residency Faculty Members and first-year Residents.

Introducing the teaching faculty ...







(top left and right) Dr Ng Lee Beng — Programme Director for Fellowship Programme [FCFPS(S)] and Dr Julian Lim — Programme Director for Master of Medicine (FM) College Programme with their supportive teams of tutors

(above) A sizable group of tutors makes up the teaching faculty of the *Graduate Diploma in Family Medicine (GDFM)* as headed by Programme Director, Dr Kwong Kum Hoong (not in picture).

And the "Best Tutor of the Year" award goes to ...



Dr Julian Lim (right) presents the "Best Tutor of the Year" award to Dr Xu Bang Yu. Dr Xu was nominated for the award by MMed(FM) trainees from the 2016-2017 intake.

Induction sessions for trainees















1., 2. & 3. Tutors and trainees from the Fellowship programme getting to know one another in their groups

MMed(FM) Programme Director
Dr Julian Lim giving an interesting
presentation to the trainees

GDFM trainees prepares for their induction session

6. & 7.

A/Prof Lee Kheng Hock meets up with Singhealth Residency Faculty Members and Year 1 FM Residents

At the Annual General Meeting ...

Guests and members of the College were invited to stay on for the Annual General Meeting, also held at the College of Medicine Building auditorium.

In the President's Address, A/Prof Lee Kheng Hock thanked the past presidents for having laid a strong foundation for College. He expressed confidence that the new Council will lead College to greater heights.

Members of the Executive Committee took turns to update the House on the respective reports and audited statements found in the Annual Report.

The Elections was certainly the highlight of the event as Returning Officer A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean declared Dr Tan Tze Lee the President of the 26th Council (2017-2019). Although voting was not necessary, the House cheered on as the following Office Bearers and Council Members were announced:

Vice-President A/Prof Lim Fong Seng **Honorary Secretary** Dr Subramaniam Surajkumar **Honorary Assistant Secretary** Dr Lim Hui Ling **Honorary Treasurer** Dr Low Sher Guan Luke **Honorary Assistant Treasurer** Dr Ng Lee Beng Council Members Dr Chan Hian Hui Vincent Dr Goh Lay Hoon Dr Koong Ying Leng Agnes Dr Lim Ang Tee Dr Seah Ee-Jin Darren Dr Tan Hsien Yung David Dr Wong Tien Hua Dr Xu Bang Yu

Ending the event on a happy note, A/Prof Lee Kheng Hock congratulated Dr Tan and the new Council.

The new President shall look forward to an interesting term with the support of a strong Council and College members.







